Austria, officially the Republic of Austria (German: Republik Österreich), is a federal republic and a landlocked country of over 8.8 million people in Central Europe. It is bordered by the Czech Republic and Germany to the north, Hungary and Slovakia to the east, Slovenia and Italy to the south, and Switzerland and Liechtenstein to the west. The capital is Vienna.

Joined the European Union in 1995.

Adopted the euro currency in 1999.

Free Joomla templates by Ltheme