Common side

The common sides of the eight euro coins have different designs:

  • €2 and €1, 50, 20 and 10 cent show either the European Union before its enlargement on 1 May 2004 or, as of 1 January 2007, a geographical image of Europe. Coins from Italy (including San Marino and the Vatican City), Austria and Portugal show the more recent design only if they are dated “2008” or later.
  • 5, 2 and 1 cent show Europe in relation to Africa and Asia on a globe.
  • Luc Luycx of the Royal Belgian mint won the Euro design competition and on all Euro coins there are the initials of 'LL'.
  • Each denomination has different edge so it is easy to recognize them.
  • Malta and Cyprus and all the new members of the Eurozone has the new design.